Bear in mind there are no other competitors. Currently, I am paying .10/click for 2nd ad spot ranking at my min CPC bid of $76.
My click thru rate is garbage cause everyone clicks his ad instead of mine, because he is on the left side. Just wondering if this is a lost cause or what your guys thoughts are on this.
My click thru rate is garbage cause everyone clicks his ad instead of mine, because he is on the left side.
CTR used in quality score is normalized by position. You aren't penalized for not being in the top positions.
To be in the top positions, your ad has to have a minimum on the major QS factors (landing page, CTR, relevancy (keyword/ad copy)).
My QS is a 9 * 99 (my max cpc) = 891
891/10 (his QS) = $89/click
Unless something super shady is going on, because I doubt he can afford that, but he's still ahead of me nonetheless.
So, I was just wondering, either left side sponsered ads don't factor into the equation, or this guy is spending like $80K/day, or its all B.S.
[edited by: JacksonMahoney at 3:53 pm (utc) on Mar. 17, 2009]
One is that if one ad does not meet all of the min requirements for the top spot, and there's an open top spot - Google will 'leapfrog' one advertiser over another to be in this position.
The second is that geo CTR is taken into account. You could be in position 1 in one area and position 3 in another. The ad preview tool will help clarify that.
There are even a few other possibilities as well, but the top 2 spring to mind first.